Start Sex no registration no membership

Sex no registration no membership

The first provisions on the subject, in the 1957 Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (1.1.1, 3.1.3 and 3.1.4), covered the free movement of workers and freedom of establishment, and thus individuals as employees or service providers.

On 10 December 2008, the Commission presented to the Council and the European Parliament a report on the application of the directive, which highlighted a number of serious problems with the transposition provisions[5] and, in 2009, it issued a communication on guidance for better transposition and application of the directive[6].

It is designed to encourage Union citizens to exercise their right to move and reside freely within the Member States, to cut back administrative formalities to the bare essentials, to provide a better definition of the status of family members, and to limit the scope for refusing entry or terminating the right of residence.

Under Directive 2004/38/EC, family members include: the spouse; the registered partner if the legislation of the host Member State treats registered partnerships as equivalent to marriage[4]; direct descendants who are under the age of 21 or are dependants and those of the spouse or registered partner; and dependent direct relatives in the ascending line and those of the spouse or registered partner.

From September 2015, the sheer number of new arrivals prompted several Member States to temporarily reintroduce checks at the internal Schengen borders.

In May 2016, this went further when the Council — acting on a Commission proposal — recommended that five countries reintroduce temporary border controls for up to six months owing to ‘persistent serious deficiencies’ in external border management identified in Greece.

It first involved the gradual phasing-out of internal borders under the Schengen agreements, initially in just a handful of Member States.

Today, the provisions governing the free movement of persons are laid down in Directive 2004/38/EC on the right of EU citizens and their family members to move and reside freely within the territory of the Member States, although substantial implementation obstacles persist.

Initially, the Schengen implementing Convention (signed only by Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) was based on intergovernmental cooperation in the field of justice and home affairs.